LPU Manila hosts PeLS’ General Assembly 2022

The Philippine e-Learning Society (PeLS) conducted its General Assembly on December 3, 2022, at the Sotero H. Laurel Academic Resource Center (SHL-ARC) Courtyard, LPU – Manila, and live-streamed via Zoom.

PeLS was founded in 2003 guided by its mission to lead the advancement of eLearning practice in the academe and industry through professional development opportunities and collaboration. PeLS also aims to serve as a venue for promoting the interoperability of eLearning systems, cooperating with international eLearning groups, and promoting public awareness and appreciation of the nature and uses of eLearning.  

The program commenced with the awarding of institutional membership and pledge of membership for individual members. It was followed by the promise of membership in PeLS’ advisory council composed of Dr. Dennis Berino from De La Salle University, Dr. Rolando Maningas from Agricultural Training Institute, Dr. Dave E. Marcial from Siliman University, Prof. April Joy Gascon from the University of Santo Tomas, and Prof. Anthea Mariano from University of the Philippines – Open University. The oath of membership for individual members of PeLS was also conducted.

Among the guest speakers invited was Engr. Edward Paul Apigo, Senior Science Research Specialist, Research Information & Technology Transfer Division (RITTD) – Department of Science & Technology (DOST) shared his insights on Transforming Education thru Innovation; Mr. Adam Klecheski, the Regional Director of Instructure Philippines discussed Using Technology to Enhance Collaboration and Engagement; and Prof. Cecilia Mercado the Vice President of PeLS discussed Privacy and Security in e-Learning.

LPU Manila was awarded as the host of this year’s PeLS General Assembly headed by Ms. Devy M. Galang, Director of Center for eLearning-Enabled Education, Mr. Darwin Robert A. Gutierrez, Education Technology Manager, Ms. Grace R. Neturada, Instructional Quality Management Manager, and Mr. Kevin A. Rodriguez, Technical Administrator.

Announcements of ICE Conference and activities were made by Dr. Abegayle Machelle Chua, Area Coordinator for Luzon and Visayas, PeLS Chair, ICE 2022. Closing remarks were delivered by Prof. Janice Antoniette Forster.