default banner

About Graduate School


The Graduate School was formally opened  in the School Year of 1953-1954 with course offerings leading to Masters Degrees in Law, Political Science, and History, with Dr. Jose P. Laurel as the first Dean.  Dr. Benico Catapusan succeeded Dr. Laurel in 1960 as Director of the Graduate School.

The Graduate School was re-named the Claro M. Recto Academy of Advanced Studies in 1962, in honor of the late Senator Claro M. Recto.

The start of the School Year 1967-1968 saw the CMR-AAS offering additional subjects in Advanced Marketing and Statistics, Law, Education, and English.

The CMR-AAS expanded its facilities and academic staff in 1971 to keep up with an increase in student enrollment and started new program offerings in the Master of  Arts in Filipino and the Master in Business Administration.

The Master of Arts in Public Administration was added to its program of offerings in 1973.  Success in the Manila campus encouraged Management to set up the Graduate School in the Lyceum of Batangas in the same year.

A doctoral program, Ph.D. in Fiscal Studies, was introduced in 1992.  The second doctoral program, Ph.D. in Public policies and Management, was approved by the Department of Education, Culture and Sports in 1993.

Enrollment in the graduate school reached an all time high then of 300 students.

The CMR-AAS prospered under the leadership of Dr. Angel Q. Yoingco as Dean.  He was also Board Member and occupant of the Andres Soriano Professorial Chair in  Economic, until his retirement in 2003.

Professor Leonida T. Africa, then Vice-President for Academic Affairs, took over from Dr. Yoingco the headship of the CMR-ASS, as concurrent Officer-in-Charge, until her retirement on May 15, 2005.

The Academy was visited in early 2004 by an evaluation team from the CHED as part of the government’s effort to determine and promote the quality of graduate education in the country.

Enrolment on the graduate school level, affected by the economic crunch in Philippine society, is now down to 65 students.

Dr. Kate C. Botengan, appointed as Vice-President for Academic Affairs in May 16, 2005, was also appointed on concurrent basis as Dean of the CMR-ASS on the same date.

Dr. Conrado  E.Iñigo Jr., appointed as the Vice-President for Academic Affairs in August 2008 and also appointed as Dean of the Graduate School from November 16, 2007 to May 15, 2007.

Dr. Victor B. Endriga, appointed as Dean of the Graduate School on October 1, 2008 to November 15, 2012.

Dr. Jose Ma. Gonzales, appointed as Dean of the Graduate School on November 16, 2012 to December 19, 2019.

Dr. Samuel S. Chua, appointed as Dean of the Graduate School on January 1, 2020 to date.

The CMR-AAS continues to vigorously conform to the Mission and Vision of Lyceum.



The Claro M. Recto Academy of Advanced Studies (CMR-AAS), envisions itself as a competitive center of excellence in graduate studies with a global edge.



The CMR-AAS mission is to contribute to the advancement of a competitive center of excellence in graduate studies as evidenced by:

  1. Relevant graduate program offerings responsive to the requirements of a rapidly changing world.
  1. Networking with government offices, private offices and NGOs as a provider for their Staff development needs and programs.
  1. Provide the highest quality graduate instruction and training.
  1. Promote social and extension services in public administration, business, education and other related fields.
  1. Contribute to the advancement of human knowledge through the conduct of academic research studies.

Claro M. Recto Academy of Advanced Studies